LEAD 2021 Recap

Thank you for helping to make LEAD 2021 a success!

How to Receive Credit for Your Attendance

Download the CME Session Credit Sheet (PDF).

Please fill out and return the credit sheet to cme@sr-ahec.org by October 22.

If you couldn’t make it to the meeting, here’s a recap of what you missed…

Election Results Announced

On Saturday evening at the NCMS’ Annual Business meeting, the results of the NCMS election were announced.

Election Results: NCMS Board of Directors


  • President-Elect:  Arthur Apolinario, MD, MPH, FAAFP
  • Region 1: Claudius D. Jarrett, MD
  • Region 2: Fatima Z. Syed, MD, MSc
  • At-Large: Jugta Kahai, MD
  • At-Large:  Carl J. Westcott, MD

Election Results: AMA Delegation

  • Delegate: Mary Ann C. Contogiannis, MD
  • Delegate: John A. Fagg, MD
  • Alternate Delegate: Timothy J. Reeder, MD, MPH

Election Results: Nominating & Leadership Development Committee

  • Region 1: Latonya R. Beatty, MD
  • Region 1: Joe Navejar, IV, DO
  • Region 2: Ronald B. Laney, Jr., MD, MPH
  • Region 2: Andrew W. Phillips, MD, MEd
  • Region 3: C. Labron Chambers, Jr., MD, MBA
  • Region 3: Peter A. Fenn, PA-C
  • Region 3: James E. Hill, Jr., PA-C, MEd
  • Region 4: Frank M. Melvin, MD
  • Region 4: MaryShell B. Zaffino, MD

Awards Bestowed at LEAD Conference

  1. The E. Harvey Estes, MD, Physician Community Service Award, is presented by the NCMS to a North Carolina physician who has compiled an outstanding record of community service, which, apart from their work as a physician, reflects well on the medical profession.

Harry Gallis, MD, received this year’s E. Harvey Estes award. Dr. Gallis is recognized nationally as a pioneer in the development of the modern Continuing Medical Education (CME) accreditation model and was instrumental in the founding principles of the American Council on Continuing Medical Education (ACCME). He has sustained his involvement over many years.

As his nominator stated: “Dr. Gallis’ career is prolific and admirable. By advocating for quality CME, Dr. Gallis has helped countless education programs to deliver credible learning opportunities, and therefore, has helped physicians in North Carolina and beyond meet requirements for maintenance of licensure, maintenance of certification, credentialing, membership in professional societies, and other professional privileges. Without his leadership, North Carolina’s CME options would be limited and the NCMS program may have been cancelled.”

A graduate of Princeton University and then receiving his MD from Duke University School of Medicine, Dr. Gallis is highly respected nationally and in Durham through Duke and in Charlotte through his affiliation with Carolinas Medical Center, now Atrium Health.

  1. The second NCMS award presented was the John Huske Anderson Award, which recognizes a layperson whose contributions have had a positive impact on the medical profession and the public health and recalls John Huske Anderson’s service to medicine and the NCMS, having served as its legal counsel from 1937 until his retirement in 1983.  This year’s award went to Paul Harrison, Executive Director of the Wake County Medical Society from 2000 until just this year and, from 2000 to 2011 with the Wake County Community Health Foundation. The Foundation’s mission was to develop a medical care safety net for indigent residents of Wake County on behalf of the Wake County Medical Society.

Harrison’s commitment to public service and health goes back to the very start of his career, beginning with his stint as a Peace Corps Volunteer and staff member in Truk Micronesia. He went on to earn his master’s degree in public health from UNC-Chapel Hill. He has worked for the NC Office of Rural Health Services, served as assistant dean of Trinity College, Duke University, and at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina before starting his 20+ year tenure with the Wake County Medical Society and work with the Wake County Community Health Foundation.  His volunteer service includes serving on the Board of Trustees for the Urban Ministries of Wake County as well as working as a volunteer patient intake worker at its Open Door Clinic.

  1. The LEAD Annual Scientific Poster Session was extremely competitive this year, with 36 submissions in 4 categories. Winners were announced by chief judge, Eileen Raynor, MD.Clinical Research – Medical Student:3rd place – Huannain Siddiqui (Campbell) – Access and Distribution of COVID-19 Vaccine Resources Among Black Communities: The Importance of Trust2nd place – Vidhya Balasubramanian (UNC) – Improving Disease Monitoring of Diabetes Mellitus at a Federally Qualified Health Center1st place – Arielle Khosrowpour (Campbell)- An Investigation of COVID-19 Vaccine Hesitancy Within Rural Regions of North Carolina

     Clinical Research – Resident:

    2nd place – Beaulah Vaz (Cape Fear Valley Medical Center) – Survey Study of Patient understanding of DNR Orders in ED Setting

    1st place – Jaclyn Tremont (WakeMed Health) – Implementation of a Multidisciplinary Care Pathway for Patients with Acute Traumatic Spinal Cord Injury

    Clinical Vignette – Medical Student:

    3rd place – Lindsay Clemson (Campbell) – Bladder Cancer: Case Report and Review of Diagnostic Advancements

    2nd place – Chung-Tang Liu (Campbell) – Recurrent Metastatic Prostatic Cancer with Two Simultaneous Malignancies of Unknown Primary in a Patient Undergoing Adrogen Deprivation Therapy

    1st place – Laura Lavette (Wake Forest) – Endoscopic Ultrasound’s Utility in Identifying and Diagnosing Nonpancreatic, Retroperitoneal Sarcomas

    Clinical Vignette – Resident:

    3rd place – Elexander Atkinson (Novant Health Family Medicine) – A Patient With Two Myocardial Infarctions Due To Atherogenic Plaque and Spontaneous Coronary Artery Dissection

    2nd place – Roma Pegany (UNC Chapel Hill, Department of Ophthalmology) – Keeping an eye out for ocular Syphilis: A Case Report

    1st place – Matthew Ellis (Atrium Health Wake Forest Baptist) – Bilateral Chronic Myelongenous Infiltration of the Optic Nerve


  2. The Harris Memorial Award was established by the Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence (CCME) in 1999 to honor the life and memory of one of its founders, T. Reginald Harris, MD, for his decades of service to the medical community through the North Carolina Medical Society, the American Medical Association and many other professional and civic community organizations. This award is presented annually to a North Carolina physician for his or her outstanding achievements in health care, quality improvement and service to the medical community. Dr. John Mangum, chair of CCME, presented the award to John LaFata, MD. Dr. LaFata practices with Mountain Medical Associates and serves as Medical Director of Silver Bluff Village in western North Carolina. He has been recognized by his colleagues for his pivotal leadership in reducing hospital readmissions and emergency room visit rates. Since being impacted by COVID, Silver Bluff has been aided by Dr. LaFata’s steadfast leadership in conducting a retrospective study of the facility’s initial COVID outbreak, obtaining polymerase chain reaction (PCR) specimens, assessing the changing needs of residents, conducting house calls, and providing medical services to the uninsured.



More Posts in LEAD Conference


Share this Post