Kudos Corner

Congratulations are in order for many North Carolina Medical Society (NCMS) community members in this issue of the Bulletin.

NCMS member Rep. Greg Murphy, MD, the only physician currently serving in the North Carolina General Assembly, was one of 11 people to receive the newly created Dogwood Award from NC Attorney General Josh Stein. The award is an effort to honor North Carolinians “who are dedicated to keeping people safe, healthy and happy in their communities,” according to a news release from Stein’s office. All the recipients have contributed to the opioid fight. Dr. Murphy was the primary sponsor of the STOP Act, which strengthens oversight of opioid prescribing among other provisions. Dr. Murphy, a urologist from Greenville, recently was appointed to co-chair the Task Force on Sentencing Reforms for Opioid Drug Convictions. Read more about the awards in this Greenville Reflector article.


NC winners (l-r): Dr. Brennan, Dr. Stoneburner, Dr. McCracken, Dr. Gordon (holding plaque), Alan Skipper (far right).

The Secretariat for State Affairs of the American Academy of Ophthalmology honored NCMS Vice President for Specialty Society Management Services Alan Skipper, CAE, with the Outstanding Executive Director Award for Political Action, for his work as executive director of the North Carolina Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons (NCSEPS).

The Secretariat for State Affairs also recognized the NCSEPS with the Star Award for the response to an apparent ocular melanoma cluster in the Lake Norman area. The Star Award program provides special recognition to state ophthalmology societies for outstanding efforts on programs or projects they have implemented in the previous year. Accepting the award at the Academy’s Annual Meeting in New Orleans were: NCMS member and NCSEPS President, Sara Stoneburner, MD, NCSEPS President-elect Kitty Gordon, MD, Stuart McCracken, MD, longtime NCMS member and co-founder of the NCMS Leadership College Michael Brennan, MD, and Alan Skipper, CAE.


Dr. Rusher, left, after being sworn in as a member of the NC Medical Board.

John Rusher, MD, a Raleigh pediatrician, was sworn in as a member of the North Carolina Medical Board on Nov. 16. A 2013 alumnus of the NCMS’ Leadership College, Dr. Rusher also was appointed to the John Rex Endowment Board recently.


John Lietz, MD, an emergency medicine physician, also was sworn into the NCMB. Dr. Lietz is a member of the 2018 class of the NCMS’ Health Care Leadership and Management program.

The NCMB also honored longtime NCMS member Eleanor Greene, MD, for her years of service on the Board. Dr. Greene is part of the NCMS’ 2018 Leadership College class.

Dr. Eleanor Greene being honored by the NC Medical Board for her service.

The Leadership College and Health Care Leadership and Management are both part of the NCMS’ Kanof Institute for Physician Leadership. Learn more.





Congratulations to all our NCMS ‘family’ who have distinguished themselves recently!


More Posts in Bulletins


Share this Post