Dr. David S. Johnson Receives 2018 E. Harvey Estes Physician Community Service Award

John L. Reynolds, MD (left) presents David S. Johnson, MD, with the E. Harvey Estes Physician Community Service Award.

David S. Johnson, MD, a pediatrician with Burlington Pediatrics for 38 years and a longstanding North Carolina Medical Society (NCMS) member, received this year’s E. Harvey Estes Physician Community Service Award at the NCMS’ Annual Business meeting on Friday, Oct. 19.

This award recognizes physicians whose service to their community is exemplary and reflects most positively on the medical profession.

Dr. Johnson has not only committed himself as a physician to the health and welfare of his patients, he also has worked tirelessly for his community. His business acumen has served his practice, Burlington Pediatrics and Alamance County well. A member of the Alamance Chamber of Commerce for many years, he was elected President in 2009 and continues to take part in initiatives to recruit high quality businesses to the area. He is active in the Alamance County Economic Development Foundation helping to stimulate economic growth. He is a great ambassador for Burlington Pediatrics, as well as an effective advocate for the interests of children in Alamance County and the Triad region. On many levels, he appreciates the role of economic stability in improving the lives of children.

As his letter of nomination noted: “With a booming voice and towering 6’ 5” figure, he seems quite intimidating at first glance. But appearances can be deceiving. To those who know him, he is a gentle giant— compassionate, sensitive and trustworthy. To friends, he keeps you on your toes with his razor sharp wit while putting you at ease with his self-deprecating sense of humor. To opponents, he is formidable— confident and shrewd, with an impressive fund of knowledge. To children— who are smart enough to see right through him, they recognize David as one of their own, with an ageless mischievous streak. David embodies humanity in medicine.”

Congratulations Dr. Johnson!


More Posts in Annual Meeting


Share this Post