NCMS Board of Directors Regional Representation

Regional Representatives of the Board are responsible to the physicians of their region for key issues of the Society, determining policies that will affect the practice of medicine throughout the state and implementing policy decisions made by the NCMS.

Click to view larger map

Region 1 Region 2 Region 3 Region 4

Region 1: Represented by Edward Whitesides, MD

Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, Wilson


Region 2: Represented by Fatima Syed, MD, MSc

Alamance, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Davie, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Johnston, Lee, Montgomery, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Vance, Wake, Warren


Region 3: Represented by Karen L. Smith, MD, FAAFP

Anson, Bladen, Cabarrus, Cleveland, Cumberland, Gaston, Harnett, Hoke, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Moore, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson Scotland, Stanly, Union



Region 4: Represented by Rachel D. Keever, MD, CPE, FACC

Alleghany, Alexander, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Buncombe, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rowan, Rutherford, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, Yancey

Contact the Board

Have a health policy concern or an issue that impacts the profession of medicine? Submit your feedback here.