2018 T. Reginald Harris Award Goes to Dr. Karen Smith

Congratulations to Karen Smith, MD, of Raeford who was awarded The Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence’s (CCME) 2018 Harris Memorial Award in recognition of her outstanding achievements in the improvement of health care quality and service to the medical community. Dr. Smith has shown dedication to her community through her private practice and her involvement in health care reform initiatives, treatment of substance abuse disorders and onsite education experience.

She has been an active member of the Hoke County community for 26 years as a family physician in the rural community of Raeford. Over 13 years she has been an active participant on the Division of Medical Assistance Advisory Board and the North Carolina Institute of Medicine. Recognizing that the needs of her patient population reached beyond the exam room, Dr. Smith became involved with the North Carolina Medical Society (NCMS) and has been a member since 1990. She also is active with the North Carolina Academy of Family Physicians (NCAFP).

NCMS Past President John Mangum, MD, presented Dr. Smith with the award on behalf of the CCME at the NCMS’ LEAD Health Care Conference held in Raleigh on Friday, Oct. 19.

The Harris Memorial Award was established twenty years ago to honor the life and memory of one of CCME’s founding members, T. Reginald Harris, MD. Dr. Harris passed away in 1999 and was well-known for his decades of service to the medical community through the North Carolina Medical Society, the American Medical Association, and many other professional, civic, and community activities.


More Posts in Annual Meeting


Share this Post