Former NCMS President H. David Bruton, MD Honored

David BrutonH. David Bruton, MD, a longtime North Carolina Medical Society (NCMS) leader and NCMS President in 1995-96, received the 2017 North Caroliniana Society Award on May 10. The award, whose previous recipients include US Congressman Sam J. Ervin Jr. and TV news reporter Charles Kuralt among many other notable North Carolina personalities, recognizes “the long and distinguished service in the encouragement, production, enhancement, promotion and preservation of North Caroliniana.”

The Caroliniana Society was chartered in 1975 and is dedicated to the promotion of increased knowledge and appreciation of North Carolina’s heritage by encouraging scholarly research and writing and teaching of state and local history.

Congratulations Dr. Bruton!


Share this Post


Leave a Reply

The NCMS moderates this blog, so expect a slight delay in posting. Please include your full name and affiliation. We insist on respectful dialogue and reserve the right not to post remarks incompatible with our guidelines.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *