Drum Roll Please…Announcing the 2018 NCMS Photo Contest Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of the North Carolina Medical Society’s (NCMS) annual photo contest. The winners’ photos will grace our 2019 calendar, one of our most popular publications, which is being designed now and will be distributed before the new year to NCMS members.

This year saw a record 75 submissions with 13 new photographers entering the contest. This new talent garnered two category wins and two finalist spots. For the third year in a row, the overall winner is Karl Chiang, MD, a vascular/interventional radiologist in Greenville and longtime NCMS member.

Dr. Chiang’s winning photo, “Coastal Carolina Sunrise,” along with all the other winners’ photographs will be revealed with the publication of the 2019 NCMS calendar.

Congratulations to the following talented NCMS photographers (an * denotes a photographer new to the contest):


Karl S. Chiang, MD – Overall Winner

Vikas J. Patel, MD* – Nature Category Winner

Thomas J. Monaco, Jr., MD – North Carolina Category Winner

Michael M. Hirsch, MD* – Travel Category Winner

Robert M. Varnell, MD – Wildlife Category Winner

Herbert W. Clegg, II, MD, FAAP

Steven M. Genkins, MD

Craig M. Greven, MD

Kathryn M. Greven, MD, FASTRO

Rodger D. Israel, MD, MPH

Charlotte K. Karriker, MD

Brian J. Sutton, MD*

Thomas M. Swantkowski, MD, AGAF, FACG*



Charles H. Classen, Jr., MD

Jeffrey L. Coston, DO

J. Jane Girskis, MS, PA-C

Richard M. Griffin, MD

Edward A. Hedrick, MPAS, PA-C

James E. Hill, Jr., PA-C, MEd

H. Slade Howell, Jr., MD

Amy M. Kornegay, PA-C, MPAS

Peter L. Leuchtmann, MD*

H. Curtiss Merrick, MD, FACP

Joel B. Miller, MD

Keith V. A. Nance, MD

Kristen R. Page, MD*

Philip W. Ponder, MD

David A. Rockwell, MD

Merritt J. Seshul, MD, FACS, FAAOA*

Robert E. Taylor, MD

Maqsood A. Valliani, MD


Honorable Mentions

Michael L. Bowen, MD

Yun L. Boylston, MD, FAAP

Anthony J. Caprio, MD

Marilue M. Cook, MD

John C. Crawley, PA-C

O’Neill F. D’Cruz, MD, MBA, FAAN

Peter M. Gallerani, MD*

Lisa M. Gangarosa, MD

Lawrence H. Greenblatt, MD, FACP

Annette E. Grefe, MD

Jugta Kahai, MD, FAAP

David K. Mertz, MD, FAAP

Jeffrey D. Mewborne, MD

Danna M. Park, MD, FAAP

Katherine J. Pierce, MD

Demetri T. Poulis, MD, FACS

Leighton A. Raynor, MD

Timothy J. Reeder, MD, MPH, FACEP*

Donna M. Richardson, MD, MBA

Richard J. Rosen, MD*

George Stamataros, DO*

Robert J. Starkenburg, MD, CMD

Padageshwar R. Sunkara, MD*

Cecil K. Thoppil, MD*

John G. Wagnitz, MD

Robert L. West, MD

Michael R. Wolff, MD



Share this Post